::  Home  
  ::  Find a Book  
  ::  Get a Library Card  
  ::  Your Account  
  ::  Ask a Librarian  
  ::  Koth Gallery  
  ::  Northwest Voices  
  ::  Online Resources  
  ::  Project Read  
 
1600 Louisiana St, Longview, WA 98632
360.442.5300

Online Databases

Alphabetical Listing of Databases

A    B    C    D    E      F    G    H    I    J    K    L   M 
N    O    P    Q    R    S    T    U    V    W    X    Y    Z

Databases by Topic

Art, Antiques and Collectibles
Almanacs, Dictionaries and Encyclopedia
Auto Repair      Biography      Business
Current Events   Testing Information/Practice Tests   Health      History
Literature      Magazines      Newspapers
Science      Spanish-language Databases

Note: Access to these databases requires the barcode number from your library card and your pin number. Your pin number is usually the last 4 digits of your phone number. If you are not able to log in with this information, please call us at 442.5300. These databases are also accessible to the public (cardholding and otherwise) via the two database computers located near the Reference Desk on the Main Floor.

A

Associations Unlimited
Directory of 444,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state and local nonprofit membership organizations.

Automotive Database
Repair and maintenance information on various models from 1954 to present.

B

Biography Resource Center
Provides biographical profiles of more than 132,000 individuals plus numerous full text magazine articles.

Business and Company Resource Center
Information on business and management topics, and research more than 300,000 companies and their products and services.

C

Consulta
Consulta provides a comprehensive collection of Spanish-language materials, including award-winning reference material from both Gale and Oceano, a wide range of journals, plus essential primary source documents. In addition to standard and advanced search methodologies and a dictionary function, Consulta provides a graphic chronological timeline to simplify research of specific eras, plus an extensive image gallery.

Contemporary Authors
Biographical and bibliographical information on current writers. (This link now leads to Literary Resource Center where this information can be found.)

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
Provides critical essays on contemporary writers and their work. (This link now leads to Literary Resource Center where this information can be found.)

CultureGrams
Experience the cultures of 182 countries and territories in reports that include maps, statistics, a glossary, and indepth information on 25 categories. Also includes a Kids Edition and a States Edition, along with a photo gallery, biography section, and recipe collection featuring native recipes from every country featured in CultureGrams.

Top of Page

D

Dictionary of Literary Biography
Contains almost 8,000 articles about notable American and International authors. (This link now leads to Literary Resource Center where this information can be found.)

E

Electric Library
Searches magazines, U.S. and foreign newspapers, reference books, maps, pictures and TV/radio transcripts.

F

Facts.com
Articles from Facts on File World News Digest over the past 20 years. Also includes the World Almanac, Issues and Controversies, and Today’s Science.

Top of Page

H

Health and Wellness Reference Center
A comprehensive resource that provides integrated access to medical, health, and wellness information. Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. New and updated material is added quarterly. New periodical and newspaper articles are added daily.

History Resource Center: World
Extensive coverage of the 20th century, plus content on the ancient Mediterranean, Near East, Asia, Middle East, Latin America, the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. From antiquity to the present, world history curricula is reflected by content from over 2,000 primary sources, 25 reference titles and from 110 academic journals.

 

I

InfoTrac OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Informe
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.

Top of Page

L

Learning Express Library
A database of practice tests and test study material. It includes GED, ASVAB Citizenship, firefighter and many more professional and academic tests and study aids.

N

NoveList
Your subject guide to fiction at all reading levels. Match a favorite author or title; describe a plot; find a book discussion guide; browse through lists of different types of fiction or award-winning novels.

P

Price It! Antiques and Collectibles
This database is a pricing tool containing data from eBay, antique dealer sites (GoAntiques & TIAS), plus over 50 antique auction houses with over 23 million prices for art, antiques, and collectibles, combined with over 10 million images, providing the ultimate identification, research, and pricing tool for collectors, dealers, appraisers, and anyone in between.

ProQuest
Articles from over 4,100 magazines, journals and newspapers. Includes full-text articles from the New York Times. Also includes ProQuest Newspapers that contains full-text articles from Washington's major newspapers back to 1995 and the Seattle Times from 1984.
ProQuest is provided jointly by the Washington State Library and this local library, and is funded in part with federal LSTA funds.

R

Reference USA
Detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses; 102 million U.S. residents; 683,000 U.S. health care providers; 1 million Canadian businesses; and 11 million Canadian residents.

Top of Page

Almanacs, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias

Associations Unlimited
Directory of 444,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state and local nonprofit membership organizations.

CultureGrams
Experience the cultures of 182 countries and territories in reports that include maps, statistics, a glossary, and indepth information on 25 categories. Also includes a Kids Edition and a States Edition, along with a photo gallery, biography section, and recipe collection featuring native recipes from every country featured in CultureGrams.

Electric Library
Searches magazines, U.S. and foreign newspapers, reference books, maps, pictures and TV/radio transcripts.

InfoTrac OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Facts.com
Articles from Facts on File World News Digest over the past 20 years. Also includes the World Almanac, Issues and Controversies, and Today’s Science.

Top of Page

Art, Antiques, and Collectibles

Price It! Antiques and Collectibles
This database is a pricing tool containing data from eBay, antique dealer sites (GoAntiques & TIAS), plus over 50 antique auction houses with over 23 million prices for art, antiques, and collectibles, combined with over 10 million images, providing the ultimate identification, research, and pricing tool for collectors, dealers, appraisers, and anyone in between.

Automobile Repair Manuals

Automotive Database
Repair and maintenance information on various models from 1954 to present.

Biography

Biography Resource Center
Provides biographical profiles of more than 132,000 individuals plus numerous full text magazine articles.

Contemporary Authors
Biographical and bibliographical information on current writers. (This link now leads to Literary Resource Center where this information can be found.)

Dictionary of Literary Biography
Contains almost 8,000 articles about notable American and International authors. (This link now leads to Literary Resource Center where this information can be found.)

Top of Page

Business

Business and Company Resource Center
Information on business and management topics, and research more than 300,000 companies and their products and services.

Reference USA
Detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses; 102 million U.S. residents; 683,000 U.S. health care providers; 1 million Canadian businesses; and 11 million Canadian residents.

Top of Page

Current Events

Facts.com
Articles from Facts on File World News Digest over the past 20 years. Also includes the World Almanac, Issues and Controversies, and Today’s Science.

Health

Health and Wellness Resource Center
A comprehensive resource that provides integrated access to medical, health, and wellness information. Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. New and updated material is added quarterly. New periodical and newspaper articles are added daily.

History

History Resource Center: World
Extensive coverage of the 20th century, plus content on the ancient Mediterranean, Near East, Asia, Middle East, Latin America, the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. From antiquity to the present, world history curricula is reflected by content from over 2,000 primary sources, 25 reference titles and from 110 academic journals.

 

Top of Page

Literature

Contemporary Authors
Biographical and bibliographical information on current writers. (This link now leads to Literary Resource Center where this information can be found.)

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
Provides critical essays on contemporary writers and their work. (This link now leads to Literary Resource Center where this information can be found.)

Dictionary of Literary Biography
Contains almost 8,000 articles about notable American and International authors. (This link now leads to Literary Resource Center where this information can be found.)

NoveList
Your subject guide to fiction at all reading levels. Match a favorite author or title; describe a plot; find a book discussion guide; browse through lists of different types of fiction or award-winning novels.

Top of Page

Magazines

Electric Library
Searches magazines, U.S. and foreign newspapers, reference books, maps, pictures and TV/radio transcripts.

InfoTrac OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

ProQuest
Articles from over 4,100 magazines, journals and newspapers. Includes full-text articles from the New York Times. Also includes ProQuest Newspapers that contains full-text articles from Washington's major newspapers back to 1995 and the Seattle Times from 1984.
ProQuest is provided jointly by the Washington State Library and this local library, and is funded in part with federal LSTA funds.

Top of Page

Newspapers

Electric Library
Searches magazines, U.S. and foreign newspapers, reference books, maps, pictures and TV/radio transcripts.

InfoTrac OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

ProQuest
Articles from over 4,100 magazines, journals and newspapers. Includes full-text articles from the New York Times. Also includes ProQuest Newspapers that contains full-text articles from Washington's major newspapers back to 1995 and the Seattle Times from 1984.
ProQuest is provided jointly by the Washington State Library and this local library, and is funded in part with federal LSTA funds.

Science

Facts.com
Articles from Facts on File World News Digest over the past 20 years. Also includes the World Almanac, Issues and Controversies, and Today’s Science.

Spanish-language

Consulta
Consulta provides a comprehensive collection of Spanish-language materials, including award-winning reference material from both Gale and Oceano, a wide range of journals, plus essential primary source documents. In addition to standard and advanced search methodologies and a dictionary function, Consulta provides a graphic chronological timeline to simplify research of specific eras, plus an extensive image gallery.

Informe
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.

Testing Information: Study Guides & Practice Tests

Learning Express Library
A database of practice tests and test study material. It includes GED, ASVAB Citizenship, firefighter and many more professional and academic tests and study aids.

Top of Page


Library Catalog

City of Longview  

  © Longview Public Library City of Longview, Washington, 2003 Disclaimer - Contact Us