| 1600 Louisiana St, Longview, WA 98632 | 360.442.5300 |
Online Databases
Databases by Topic
Almanacs, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Auto Repair
Biography
Business
Consumer Resources
Health
History
Homework Help
Literature
Magazines
Newspapers
Spanish-language
Note: Access to these databases requires the entire barcode number from your library card and your pin number. Your pin number is usually the last 4 digits of your phone number. If you are not able to log in with this information, please call us at 442.5300. These databases are also accessible to the public (cardholding and otherwise) via the two database computers located near the Reference Desk on the Main Floor.
Automotive Database
Repair and maintenance information on various models from 1954 to
present.
Biography Resource Center
Provides biographical profiles of more than 132,000 individuals plus
numerous full text magazine articles.
Biography & Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) indexes current, readily
available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective
works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field
of activity and from all areas of the world. Searching BGMI will enable
you to quickly determine which publication to consult for biographical
information.
Consumer Reports
The Consumer Reports database provides complete, independent, expert
ratings and recommendations on appliances, cars & trucks, electronic
gear, and much more.
Contemporary
Authors
Biographical and bibliographical information on current writers.
(This link now leads to Literary Resource Center where this
information can be found.)
Contemporary
Literary Criticism Select
Provides critical essays on contemporary writers and their work.
(This link now leads to Literary Resource Center where this
information can be found.)
CultureGrams
Learn how people really live in the U.S. and around the world. Short,
reliable reports show history, climate, government, everyday life, and
more.
eLibrary
Searches magazines, U.S. and foreign newspapers, reference books, maps,
pictures and TV/radio transcripts.
eLibrary Elementary Teacher Edition
Encyclopedia of Literature
Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature is searchable from its
button on the top navigation bar that appears on every Literature
Resource Center page and enables you to search for the presence of
any of 10,000 terms that appear in the Encyclopedia. Type in a term,
name, literary time period, or genre to get exact results, or type in a
few letters of a term to get a list of possible matches.
Health and Wellness Reference Center
A comprehensive resource that provides integrated access to medical,
health, and wellness information. Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of
Medicine. New and updated material is added quarterly. New periodical and
newspaper articles are added daily.
History Resource Center: United States
History Resource Center: U.S. provides a complete overview of U.S.
history covering the most- studied events, issues and current
information. Content of this database combines orriginal materials from
Primary Source Microfilm's digital archives-including documents,
monographs, pamphlets, first-person accounts, etc.; encyclopedic articles
built from the foundation of respected MacMillan Reference USA and
Charles Scribner's Sons information; full-text periodicals and scholarly
history journals; a historical bibliography; links to digitized special
collections; and, audio and video clips of historic speeches and events.
History Resource Center: World
Extensive coverage of the 20th century, plus content on the ancient
Mediterranean, Near East, Asia, Middle East, Latin America, the Middle
Ages and the Renaissance. From antiquity to the present, world history
curricula is reflected by content from over 2,000 primary sources, 25
reference titles and from 110 academic journals.
History Resource Center: World
Extensive coverage of the 20th century, plus content on the ancient
Mediterranean, Near East, Asia, Middle East, Latin America, the Middle
Ages and the Renaissance. From antiquity to the present, world history
curricula is reflected by content from over 2,000 primary sources, 25
reference titles and from 110 academic journals.
History Study Center
History Study Center is a collection of primary and secondary sources on global
history from ancient times to the present day.
InfoTrac OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of
topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education,
environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature
and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many
general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with
images. Updated daily.
Informe
Created for Spanish-speaking users, this full-text electronic reference
tool is the first system to provide indexing, images and full text of
popular Hispanic magazines -- not just translations.
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.
Literature
Resource Center
The Literature Resource Center (LRC) offers a wealth of information that
includes criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and
explications, Web sites, periodical articles, compare and contrast pages,
full-text author's works, and reading lists. LRC is the premier Internet
resource for information on literary figures from all time periods
writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history,
journalism, and more.
ProQuest
Articles from over 4,100 magazines, journals and newspapers. Includes
full-text articles from the New York Times. Also includes ProQuest
Newspapers that contains full-text articles from Washington's major
newspapers back to 1995.
ProQuest is provided jointly by the
Washington State Library and this local library, and is funded in part
with federal LSTA funds.
ProQuest Learning: Literature
ProQuest Learning: Literature delivers more than 180,000 searchable works of
literature from medieval times to the present.
Reference USA
Detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses; 102 million
U.S. residents; 683,000 U.S. health care providers; 1 million Canadian
businesses; and 11 million Canadian residents.
SIRS Discoverer
SIRS Discoverer: is general reference database designed for young researchers.
Almanacs, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias
CultureGrams
Learn how people really live in the U.S. and around the world. Short,
reliable reports show history, climate, government, everyday life, and
more.
Electric Library
Searches magazines, U.S. and foreign newspapers, reference books, maps,
pictures and TV/radio transcripts.
InfoTrac OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of
topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education,
environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature
and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many
general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with
images. Updated daily.
Automotive Database
Repair and maintenance information on various models from 1954 to
present.
Biography Resource Center
Provides biographical profiles of more than 132,000 individuals plus
numerous full text magazine articles.
Biography & Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) indexes current, readily
available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective
works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field
of activity and from all areas of the world. Searching BGMI will enable
you to quickly determine which publication to consult for biographical
information. The total number of biographical sketches indexed by BGMI is
now more than 13.6 million.
Contemporary Authors
Biographical and bibliographical information on current writers.
(This link now leads to Literary Resource Center where this
information can be found.)
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Contains almost 8,000 articles about notable American and International
authors. (This link now leads to Literary Resource Center where this
information can be found.)
Reference USA
Detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses; 102 million
U.S. residents; 683,000 U.S. health care providers; 1 million Canadian
businesses; and 11 million Canadian residents.
Consumer Reports
The Consumer Reports database provides complete, independent, expert
ratings and recommendations on appliances, cars & trucks, electronic
gear, and much more.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
A comprehensive resource that provides integrated access to medical,
health, and wellness information. Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of
Medicine. New and updated material is added quarterly. New periodical and
newspaper articles are added daily.
History Resource Center: United States
History Resource Center: U.S. provides a complete overview of U.S.
history covering the most- studied events, issues and current
information. Content of this database combines orriginal materials from
Primary Source Microfilm's digital archives-including documents,
monographs, pamphlets, first-person accounts, etc.; encyclopedic articles
built from the foundation of respected MacMillan Reference USA and
Charles Scribner's Sons information; full-text periodicals and scholarly
history journals; a historical bibliography; links to digitized special
collections; and, audio and video clips of historic speeches and events.
History Resource Center: World
Extensive coverage of the 20th century, plus content on the ancient
Mediterranean, Near East, Asia, Middle East, Latin America, the Middle
Ages and the Renaissance. From antiquity to the present, world history
curricula is reflected by content from over 2,000 primary sources, 25
reference titles and from 110 academic journals.
ProQuest Learning: Literature
ProQuest Learning: Literature delivers more than 180,000 searchable works of
literature from medieval times to the present.
SIRS Discoverer
SIRS Discoverer: is general reference database designed for young researchers.
History Study Center
History Study Center is a collection of primary and secondary sources on global
history from ancient times to the present day.
ProQuest Learning: Literature
ProQuest Learning: Literature delivers more than 180,000 searchable works of
literature from medieval times to the present.
SIRS Discoverer
SIRS Discoverer: is general reference database designed for young researchers.
Contemporary Authors
Biographical and bibliographical information on current writers.
(This link now leads to Literature Resource Center where this
information can be found.)
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
Provides critical essays on contemporary writers and their work.
(This link now leads to Literature Resource Center where this
information can be found.)
Encyclopedia of Literature
Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature is searchable from its
button on the top navigation bar that appears on every Literature
Resource Center page and enables you to search for the presence of
any of 10,000 terms that appear in the Encyclopedia. Type in a term,
name, literary time period, or genre to get exact results, or type in a
few letters of a term to get a list of possible matches.
Literature Resource Center
The Literature Resource Center (LRC) offers a wealth of information that
includes criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and
explications, Web sites, periodical articles, compare and contrast pages,
full-text author's works, and reading lists. LRC is the premier Internet
resource for information on literary figures from all time periods
writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history,
journalism, and more.
ProQuest Learning: Literature
ProQuest Learning: Literature delivers more than 180,000 searchable works of
literature from medieval times to the present.
SIRS Discoverer
SIRS Discoverer: is general reference database designed for young researchers.
eLibrary
Searches magazines, U.S. and foreign newspapers, reference books, maps,
pictures and TV/radio transcripts.
InfoTrac OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of
topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education,
environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature
and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many
general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with
images. Updated daily.
ProQuest
Articles from over 4,100 magazines, journals and newspapers. Includes
full-text articles from the New York Times. Also includes ProQuest
Newspapers that contains full-text articles from Washington's major
newspapers back to 1995 and the Seattle Times from 1984.
ProQuest is provided jointly by the
Washington State Library and this local library, and is funded in part
with federal LSTA funds.
eLibrary
Searches magazines, U.S. and foreign newspapers, reference books, maps,
pictures and TV/radio transcripts.
InfoTrac OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of
topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education,
environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature
and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many
general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with
images. Updated daily.
ProQuest
Articles from over 4,100magazines, journals and newspapers. Includes
full-text articles from the New York Times. Also includes ProQuest
Newspapers that contains full-text articles from Washington's major
newspapers back to 1995.
ProQuest is provided jointly by the
Washington State Library and this local library, and is funded in part
with federal LSTA funds.
Informe
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca
negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras
materias.
Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this full-text electronic reference tool is the first system to provide indexing, images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines -- not just translations. Also included is a thesaurus and interface that are uniquely designed for Spanish-speaking users.
Last updated August 18th, 2011